Guest

Preview Tool

Cisco Bug: CSCuo05519 - inserting a plan file which has already been inserted will delete data

Last Modified

Oct 16, 2017

Products (1)

  • Cisco MATE Live

Known Affected Releases

5.6.1

Description (partial)

Symptom:
inserting a plan file which has already been inserted will delete data

Conditions:
Reproduce using the 4node set of plan files.  1st: insert all plan files.  2nd: re-insert the first one.  After this, almost all timeseries data for that timestamp will be blank.  What won't be blank may be low frequency values which have changed for that date??  Not sure -but one value was observed to being preserved, out of dozens missing.

This is a severe bug because reinserting plan files is our recommended method of recovering from a crash.  However, if it's not possible to repair missing data, then it's likely that customers will have holes when they try to resume from a crash.  It's not inevitable - as inserts are transactional and if customers keep careful track of what's been inserted, then they can avoid reinserting data.  

Also, we were hoping that users could repair data by editing plan files and reinserting.  Without insert_plan being able to edit older data, then we have no solution for changing older data.
Bug details contain sensitive information and therefore require a Cisco.com account to be viewed.

Bug Details Include

  • Full Description (including symptoms, conditions and workarounds)
  • Status
  • Severity
  • Known Fixed Releases
  • Related Community Discussions
  • Number of Related Support Cases
Bug information is viewable for customers and partners who have a service contract. Registered users can view up to 200 bugs per month without a service contract.